It’s About Time: Tyra Launches Africa’s Next Top Model

Source: africanambassador.blogspot.com

Source: africanambassador.blogspot.com

I don’t know about ya’ll but I am super juiced about this. I’m not going to lie, I had to take a break from Tyra after she sent Azmarie (Cycle 18) home for not participating in her booty tooch foolery. Can you blame the girl for having common sense? I don’t think so.

But that is besides the point. There have been a few ANTM spin offs such as Australia’s and Britain’s Next Top Model, and even an attempt to create West Africa’s Next Top Model (Not sure why didn’t not take off). So it was only matter of time before the show found its way to Africa. And let’s just say it has been long overdue.

According to Clutch magazine,  Africa’s Next Top Model will take place in Capetown, South Africa, eventually progressing into Johannesburg. Following the format of ANTM, the show will feature 12 models from different African countries who will compete against one another for a yet to be determined prize.

Taking on the role as mentor, coach, producer, and host, is Nigerian supermodel Oluchi Onweagba Orlandi. Oluchi has been making her mark on the world for quite some time now. On top of being featured in countless magazines around the world. She has landed on the covers of Vogue, ELLE, and Surface.

The only downside to this is that folks here in the U.S will not be able to see the show! Depressing. However, thanks to the wonders of YouTube we should be able to get a taste of what is to unfold in South Africa. I can’t wait!

2 thoughts on “It’s About Time: Tyra Launches Africa’s Next Top Model

  1. I want to Enter Africa’s Next Top Model.I’m a bubbly ,humbled girl from kwa Zulu Natal,In a small City Pietermaritzburg.I’ve always wanted to Model but my height has been a set back,I’m kinder short.I take good pictures and that makes me think I have potential to win this competition and get more experience want to prove it to my self that its not about the height its about being a great Model.who’s grounded and stays truly to who they are. For me Failure is not an option but I strive to succeed and I’m always willing to learn new things everyday.

Leave a Reply

