From YouTube To ABC: Issa Rae Teams Up With Shonda Rhimes

Source: essence.com

I remember when I first fell in love with Issa Rae. I was spending the night at one of my good friend’s house and she was like “have you heard of Awkward Black girl?” I gave her the skeptical look and shook my head, silently wondering what the heck is Awkward Black Girl. She fired up YouTube, loaded the first couple of episodes and the rest is history.

I couldn’t just watch one episode. It was funny and real. After hearing her volatile lyrics regarding her ex-boyfriend and seeing her poignant depiction of office politics and the dating game, I knew that Miss Rae was on to something. She was talking about real stuff that most girls/women could relate to.

A year later, with glowing reviews, a growing fan base, a Shorty Award, and Season 2 underway, we can definitely say that Issa Rae is making moves! What’s more, according to Eurweb.com, Rae has teamed up with acclaimed screenwriter/producer Shonda Rhimes for a new comedy show titled “I Hate L.A. Dudes,” on ABC. Considering the work of these extremely talented ladies, this is a collaboration that I am eagerly looking forward to.

Also, I can’t help but be inspired by the success of Rae’s career. It is a confirmation that even the tiniest dreams can come true and that there is always a space for really good content. So ladies, I guess it is time to go work and start putting our ideas into action, whatever they may be!!!

Check out the latest from Issa Rae and share your thoughts on the collaboration between Rae and Rhimes.

Leave a Reply

